CSN Campus VP and Provost Clarissa M. COTA named Aspen Rising Presidents Fellow


Receive Nevada Business News & PR delivered to your inbox daily.

The College of Southern Nevada announced that Clarissa M. Cota, Vice President and Provost of North Las Vegas Campus, has been named a Rising Presidents Fellow 2021-2022 by the Aspen Institute’s College Excellence Program. Scholars are selected through a rigorous process that takes into account their ability to take strategic risks, lead strong teams, forge partnerships, stand up for equity, and focus on results-oriented improvements in student access and success.

North Las Vegas Vice President and Provost Clarissa M. Cota

“Clarissa Cota is becoming an exceptional college leader and we are very proud of her accomplishments and the positive impact she has had on our North Las Vegas community,” said CSN President Federico Zaragoza. “She has long been an advocate of human resource development and access to education for everyone. This recognition is a testament to their commitment to our Student First mission of student success. “

CSN’s North Las Vegas campus is home to the Nicholas J. Horn Theater, Hospitality and Culinary Arts and Russell’s Restaurant, telecommunications and automotive and transportation technology programs.

Cota holds BA and JD degrees from the University of Arizona and is a member of the State Bar of Arizona. She has institutional accreditation experience and was an Accreditation Officer (ALO) for the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU).

She has held numerous leadership positions on local and national boards, including Chair of the Hispanic Serving Institution (HSI) Task Force for the Nevada System of Higher Education (NSHE) and Office of Women in Higher Education for the American Council on Education (ACE) . , Nevada coordinator. She has received academic recognitions including the President’s Outstanding Teaching Faculty Award for the College of Southern Nevada and the Aspen Institute Latinos and Society Program Ricardo Salinas Scholarship.


Comments are closed.